moderate GPA with 2 minicourse fails Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
chanbaik

New

moderate GPA with 2 minicourse fails

Post by chanbaik » Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:17 am

hi guys,
I graduated from one of the schools from (UCLA, USC, UMICH, Gtown) with a double major in economics and asian studies honors. My GPA is not that bad (very personal and relative here, around 3.68), didnt take LSAT yet. I also complete my degree in 3 years so I guess that could appeal to admission committees.

My concern is this. After the freshmen year, I took two geoscience minicourses (1 credit each) and failed them. :( luckly i didnt take them with credits so they just appear as fails, not counted towards GPA. Still, I am greatly concerned and devasted as I am preparing to apply sometime next year.

With all those facts counted, what will my chance be getting into one of the schools from T14 (My first choice will be from columbia, stanford, nyu, umich, ucberkeley, gtown, northwestern)? Please save me from this devastation.

Thanks

whitespider

Silver

Re: moderate GPA with 2 minicourse fails

Post by whitespider » Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:19 am

chanbaik wrote:hi guys,
I graduated from one of the schools from (UCLA, USC, UMICH, Gtown) with a double major in economics and asian studies honors. My GPA is not that bad (very personal and relative here, around 3.68), didnt take LSAT yet. I also complete my degree in 3 years so I guess that could appeal to admission committees.

My concern is this. After the freshmen year, I took two geoscience minicourses (1 credit each) and failed them. :( luckly i didnt take them with credits so they just appear as fails, not counted towards GPA. Still, I am greatly concerned and devasted as I am preparing to apply sometime next year.