Unusual Profile Evaluation

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschoolpol

New

Unusual Profile Evaluation

Postby lawschoolpol » Sat May 24, 2014 7:01 pm

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and looking for admisssions advice on a somewhat unusual profile.

In short, I have an interest in pursuing politics as well as a general fascination with the law, and I want to know what I need to do to get in to either Harvard or Yale for law school.

About me:

I graduated from a top 10 school (not HY) with a physics degree four years ago, and a ~3.0 GPA (I've never looked at it, but it's somewhere around there). Toward the end of my freshman year, I started a business which I ran throughout college and afterword, and which was eventually acquired in a payout that netted me nine figures. Since then, I've been travelling the world and generally decompressing. I Haven't taken the LSAT, but I scored a 179 on the free practice exam the LSAC publishes (no prep), and I had a perfect SAT score, so I don't imagine I'll have a hard time on that front.

I've done a bit of research, and it seems that based purely upon stats, I'm probably inadmissible at either school, but my business experience is pretty unusual. What do you guys think? And if not - who would I contact for developmental admissions?

transferror

Silver

Re: Unusual Profile Evaluation

Postby transferror » Sat May 24, 2014 7:16 pm

why the hell do you want to go to law school?

HRomanus

Silver

Postby HRomanus » Sat May 24, 2014 7:30 pm

transferror wrote:why the hell do you want to go to law school?

+1

Law school is just another form of investment. Unless you've squandered the cash, law school is probably a bad investment for you. You obviously have the intelligence and business skills to be very successful in the corporate world and, with your experience, should find lucrative employment there quickly.