Fairly strange application situation Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jackson724

New

Fairly strange application situation

Post by jackson724 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:52 pm

Hi everybody, so this is a pretty weird one for you.

Basically here's my situation: I'm an American college graduate (BA Political Science - unique, I know) but I'm currently in my first year of an accelerated 2 year LLB (English law degree) in the UK. When I was an undergrad, I did a semester abroad and really liked it here and for a variety of reasons I was so sure that I could see myself having a life here, practicing law here, etc. But now, I'm rethinking this and have come to the conclusion that I'd like to get my JD after all so that I can practice in the US (Texas specifically, as I have connections to the legal market there) and be closer to my family.

My undergrad GPA was not stellar (~3.3) and the first and only time I took the LSAT was not a good enough result to really make up for it (158). As for my grades now, exams haven't happened yet so nothing is set in stone but if January exams were any indicator I'd say I'm around the top 20% of my class.

Ideally, I'd like to apply to the University of Texas and to the University of Houston and I really want to get scholarships as I already have quite a bit of debt from undergrad, so I know my LSAT will need to come up. The earliest I could apply is for the next cycle, which would mean I would already have a law degree, albeit an LLB instead of a JD, by the time I started law school. So yes, this is the strange situation I find myself in.

Anyway, my questions for you are these: Should I even bother applying or will the whole LLB thing put them off? If I should apply, should I retake the LSAT (and possibly take a year off to study for it)?

Thanks in advance for your help and please let me know if there's any more information I should provide.

Jchance

Silver

Re: Fairly strange application situation