Last minute applications Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cam2308

New

Last minute applications

Post by cam2308 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:13 pm

This is my first time posting here, but I have been reading for awhile and haven't seen any situations that mirror mine so I thought I'd jump in. I apologize for the length but I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions.

I graduated in May 2013 from a state school and moved to NYC. I had a lot of family issues throughout (mother's serious illness, sister's suicide attempt and subsequent institutionalization) and didn't like my school, and my GPA ended up at a 3.3. After graduation, I realized how stupid it was not to take school more seriously and this semester I began Columbia's Postbac program where I am retaking the classes that really tanked my GPA (all business classes, from my bus admin minor). Obviously it's still early in the semester but I am doing really well and expect straight A's. To complete the program requires 4 classes. I am taking two now and could complete the final two this summer.

My practice LSAT scores were consistently 175-179 before the Dec test, so I went in expecting to score in that range. I think the pressure got to me more than I realized and I ended up with a 167 (worse than I had done on any test except my first diagnostic). I retook in Feb and feel much more confident about a mid 170's score, but the games section tripped me up a little, and I'm not expecting over a 175.