Thoughts on JD/MBA from Harvard, Stanford or Penn?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Milloy

Thoughts on JD/MBA from Harvard, Stanford or Penn?

Postby Milloy » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:27 pm

I'm an incoming 1L at one of Harvard, Stanford or Penn and am interested in applying to the JD/MBA program during my 1L year. I have two years of decent work experience (BB banking / MBB consulting) and a GMAT and GPA above median for each school. I feel like my work experience right now probably isn't enough to get me into one of those schools if I applied to attend this fall, especially considering how competitive my bucket is.

I was wondering if anyone could shed some light as to what kind of shot I would have if I applied to Harvard/Stanford/Wharton as a 1L. Would that help me gain admission compared to applying separately? I'm interested in working in distressed debt investing after I graduate, which is why I'm considering the dual degree.

On a broader scale, what are people's thoughts regarding a JD/MBA from the above schools. From what I've seen, the consensus is that it's a bad idea at most schools as one degree typically isn't applicable to whatever the applicant ends up doing and the additional degree adds no value while costing $60k and a year or two of salary. Does this still hold true at the very top schools though? Would the opportunities provided by a dual degree from Harvard or Stanford outweigh the additional costs given the wider network and pull of both law schools and business schools?

rad lulz

Re: Thoughts on JD/MBA from Harvard, Stanford or Penn?

Postby rad lulz » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:29 pm

Well what do you want to do with it

cesium

Postby cesium » Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:13 pm