Double Major or GPA Boost?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Philosophriend

Double Major or GPA Boost?

Postby Philosophriend » Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:37 pm

Hello all!

First time posting, but I have been lurking over on/off for the past few months. I come to you with a question that I haven't seem to have found by sifting through older threads.

Here's my story... I'm a 4th year undergraduate, I could have graduated this spring, but decided to wait until this upcoming fall so that I can increase my GPA. I'm floating around a 2.7-2.8, and with summer/fall classes, my adviser said that a 3.2-3.3 could be possible with strong grades. My question is, should I double major so that I don't draw a suspicion from law schools when I apply (since I wont be graduating in 4 years)? Or should I just take lower-level classes to boost my GPA?

I'm a philosophy major, and after this semester will have fulfilled my requirements for the degree; I'm only 4 classes or so short of obtaining a sociology major, but I'd hate to take such high-level sociology classes and potentially hurt my GPA. Also I plan on taking the upcoming June LSAT, possibly October depending on how I feel prep wise. But what's the best method of procedure?

Thanks!

dnptan

Re: Double Major or GPA Boost?

Postby dnptan » Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:43 pm

GPA >> Double Major> Single Major

In summary, a double major is ever so slightly better than a single major compared to a GPA boost. It's considered a soft. If I were to put a number, a second major would be worth maybe 0.1 in terms of GPA. But it could be more considering you're in the high 2.0s/low 3.0s.