Challenging TLS common wisdom to "wait a cycle" for more aid

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
theramblingfool

Challenging TLS common wisdom to "wait a cycle" for more aid

Postby theramblingfool » Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:03 pm

I get it. Attending law school is expensive. Incredibly expensive. But if you're facing the decision of matriculating or waiting another cycle for a better LSAT and more aid at a T14 school (especially the top half of T14), I don't see how this is a no-brainer.

If your plan is to just go into biglaw post-grad, it looks like $160k is a reasonable income to expect. After taxes, that's probably arond $120k. Currently, I am a software engineer, and after taxes I make around $40k. That's a fair income to use for this comparison.

So if I decide to wait a cycle to apply, that is one less year, potentially, for me to work in biglaw, so -$120k. One additional year at my current job would be +$40k. So the difference in aid offered after waiting would have to be around $80k just to break even.

Help me out. Is my logic flawed here?

PepperJack

Re: Challenging TLS common wisdom to "wait a cycle" for more aid

Postby PepperJack » Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:07 pm

theramblingfool wrote:I get it. Attending law school is expensive. Incredibly expensive. But if you're facing the decision of matriculating or waiting another cycle for a better LSAT and more aid at a T14 school (especially the top half of T14), I don't see how this is a no-brainer.

If your plan is to just go into biglaw post-grad, it looks like $160k is a reasonable income to expect. After taxes, that's probably arond $120k. Currently, I am a software engineer, and after taxes I make around $40k. That's a fair income to use for this comparison.