UCLA Undergrad. 3.76/ 158 LSAT/ Helpless!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kasha

UCLA Undergrad. 3.76/ 158 LSAT/ Helpless!

Postby kasha » Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:40 am

Hi Guys!

I'm writing just to get people's opinions about where I could end up. As the title says, I have a 3.76, I graduated in December of 2011 with a degree in English (American Lit. and Cult.). I've really struggled with the LSAT... I've taken three courses, studied on my own, bought the Bibles... I took it first time, got a 155. I took it the next year (last June) and got a 158. I've even been working with a law school consultant.

I applied last year with the 155 and didn't get in anywhere I liked. I've currently applied and am still thinking of applying to a variety of schools...

I'm pretty sure even if I kill myself I can't do much better on the LSAT. What are my chances of getting accepted to a decent school? My goal is either academia, teaching/professor or politics, government work.

Softs:
Immigrant from Eastern EU
Speak two other languages
Currently in AmeriCorps with City Year
Did linguistic research study while in undergrad
Got my AA Degree at 18 (if that even matters)
Have two legal internships (court and private law)
Two+ years tutoring ESL speakers
Summer spent tutoring children in family center

Will I ever have a chance in a T20? I've also looked into JAG and Marine Corps Officer Judge Advocate since I really want to serve my country with my law degree for at least a few years...

tiltedwindmill

Re: UCLA Undergrad. 3.76/ 158 LSAT/ Helpless!

Postby tiltedwindmill » Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:59 am

You will need a 170+ to get into a school that will offer you the even the opportunity to pursue government or academia which are two of the hardest fields to break into (HYS are basically the only inroads).

If you want to be a polsci professor I would not take on 200,000 in non-dischargeable debt, go get fellowship funded PHD (which does not require the LSAT).