Weak LORs (T-14) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sprinky07

New

Weak LORs (T-14)

Post by sprinky07 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:30 pm

I'm planning on applying for the 14-15 cycle and am kinda freaking out about my LORs. I graduated in 2012 and am worried that it will be frowned upon by admissions officers to not have any academic LORs. I worked full time during college (~50 hours a week), so I was forced to take most of my classes online. The rest were night courses; however I took all of them with the same professor/my academic adviser and he passed away last year. I realize that I could always email one of my past online professors about an LOR, but I seriously doubt that I could count on one from any of them since we never interacted face-to-face. I did get mostly A's, so performing poorly in any courses won't be any hindrance to getting one, but I guess I just don't see why any of them would be willing to put their name on an LOR for a person that they never met and probably don't remember.

For the record, I graduated from a solid regional university that offers a ton online courses (I'm just pointing this out so that nobody thinks that I graduated from the University of Phoenix or something lol).

I can count on an LOR from my boss/owner of the company (same company that I worked for during college)The company is pretty small (less than 10 people) and the owner is pretty much the only person that I would consider as a "boss", so I can't really ask anybody else from work for an LOR.

So where else can I turn? Could I ask for an LOR from someone that I haven't interacted with on a professional or academic level or would that be frowned upon by adcoms?

Note: I'll be applying to the mid-lower half of the T-14 as well a couple of strong regional schools in areas that I have ties in.

jrd93

New

Re: Weak LORs (T-14)

Post by jrd93 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:37 pm

Last edited by jrd93 on Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.