I got murdered on my first LSAT- Am I done for with T10? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
TheGreatJustice

New

I got murdered on my first LSAT- Am I done for with T10?

Post by TheGreatJustice » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:14 pm

I was Pt'ing in the high 160s and even got to 171-172 a couple times. I don't know what happened during the actual test. I got a 158. I was in denial at first, but sure enough all my answers were there. I was so ashamed of myself, I didn't know how this could happen. I got -17 out of the LR (both together) when usually I get -2 to -4. I got -9 on the RC when usually I get -1 or -2. Where I usually do worst (LG), I did best, I got -6 which is acceptable. I rushed, I panicked, I was stupid. It's as if I forget all the tactics I used before.

I am a third year student in Canada and this was my first LSAT, and although I wanted to go to law school since high school, I didn't expect to apply until my forth, but I thought I'd put my hat in the ring and just get a general degree instead of finishing 4 years. I only studied for the LSAT for two months (since I didn't thing of applying this year till school started in Sept). I have decided to finish my honours (the fourth year) and apply again next cycle with a higher LSAT score.

Lately I've had thoughts about applying to Harvard, Stanford, and Columbia as well as in Canada after finishing my honours next year (my GPA is about 3.95), after retaking the LSAT and hopefully redeeming myself with a score in the mid 170s.

Two questions:

How screwed am I with Harvard, Stanford and Columbia because of the first LSAT? If it's relevant, I had parents leaving the country two days after the LSAT (to Iraq if that adds anything), I had to take an extra shift at work (family business, I had no choice). So I was under much more stress than usual.