Staying in undergrad longer hurt my application? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
astinkytoilet

New

Staying in undergrad longer hurt my application?

Post by astinkytoilet » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:45 am

I majored in a non-marketable liberal art with the full intention of going to law school after. I'm set to graduate this spring but my LSAT score was lower than I hoped. I'm going to retake in June but this means delaying my cycle another year. After a lot of lurking on this forum and reading some other blogs I am reconsidering law school if I cannot go to a t14 or get $$$ at a strong regional. I am considering pursuing another degree in accounting and pursuing an accounting career if I end up not attending law school. It would take roughly 1.5-2 years to get the accounting degree and I've all ready spent 4 in UG. Would spending 6 years in UG with 2 unrelated degrees hurt my app? Would it be better from an application perspective to just graduate now? Any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

jrd93

New

Re: Staying in undergrad longer hurt my application?

Post by jrd93 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:50 am

LSAT>>>>>>>>>>GPA>>>>>>>major>length in school

Philafaler

New

Post by Philafaler » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:57 am

LSAT and GPA are the key factors.

If you're happy with your GPA, it might be better to graduate, lock in that uGPA, then try to get into a master of accountancy program for the accounting career. I don't know how much accounting you've done, but the master typically takes only one extra year, and if the program is decent it's often easier to get a firm job.
Last edited by Philafaler on Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chidasuuu

New

Post by Chidasuuu » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:58 am