Acquiring Softs Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cblik

New

Acquiring Softs

Post by cblik » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:26 pm

Hello everyone!

First I would like to say thank you in advance for any and all advice and I very much appreciate it.

Been lurking for a while but have a question about softs that I can't find a real tangible answer to.

I am in my second year of undergrad and have known I wanted to pursue law since I started and thanks to this forum's advice I have excelled in the classroom so far. So my question is which softs should I pursue to acquire? I read people asking what softs they should have but basically the answer is "if you're asking you don't have them" which is fine but it seems that the prospective law students that are asking are already applying to schools and just about finished with undergrad. I still have a couple of years until I reach that process so I am looking for advice on certain softs that look good in a general sense to T14 schools; if you can get specific with any T14s in particular that would also be very helpful. Specifically Michigan, Northwestern, Stanford, UC, or Harvard.

Currently I am a math tutor and am in a 2-year NHS as well as an HS specific to Psychology. I will be transferring to a 4-year institution in the fall and am eager to see what I should be looking at getting into as soon as I get there.

Thank you again for any and all advice.

Cheers.

CDB

TheSpanishMain

Gold

Re: Acquiring Softs

Post by TheSpanishMain » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:33 pm

In my humble opinion, most good softs are acquired post-undergrad. Things like military service, professional work experience, prestigious post-graduate fellowships, etc. Undergraduate clubs and associations don't really help much.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:50 pm