166 LSAT on a day I was sick... Should I retake?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sam71191

166 LSAT on a day I was sick... Should I retake?

Postby sam71191 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:33 am

Hi. I took the LSAT for the first time in December. I had been scoring consistently in the low 170s on my practice tests, but the day of the test I was sick and was really out of it. I ended up getting a 166, which is OK, but I am really trying to get into either UCLA or USC and that is a little low (my GPA is an 3.8 and I graduated from Boston College). Anyway, I have two questions:

1. Should I retake the LSAT in February? I think there is a very, very good chance I get a significantly higher score with a few weeks of prep to refresh my memory.

2. If I do decide to retake the test in February, do I need to somehow inform the schools to which I am applying that a February score will be forthcoming? I already submitted my applications and now they have the Dec. LSAT score so I feel like they will probably assume the application is complete unless they hear otherwise.

Thanks for your help!

DoveBodyWash

Re: 166 LSAT on a day I was sick... Should I retake?

Postby DoveBodyWash » Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:54 am

yes you should re-take in February

Email all your schools and inform them of your February test, they'll hold off on making a decision until your new test arrives. I imagine you could still get into some good schools your current numbers anyway. I think you could probably get into USC with your numbers as they are now, but if you want leverage to negotiate, then you should ask them to wait for your Feb test. Since you have a 3.8, if you get anything above 171 you should just wait a year and re-apply and so you have a shot at T14's with scholarship

sam71191

Postby sam71191 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:05 am

My GPA is actually a 3.83. Just to be precise.