Continuing education/independent study course

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jmjm

Continuing education/independent study course

Postby jmjm » Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:33 am

I graduated from college far back enough that I wouldn't have academic recs when I apply for admissions. So, I've been considering an evening non-degree course, either a continuing education course or an independent study/project, at one of the many universities in the area. Assuming one performs well and the professor gets to know the student during these short-term evening courses, it appears that it could potentially result in student getting a rec. My question is, could it result in a rec sufficient for admissions purpose?

One concern is that usually continuing education /evening classes are short enough in duration to preclude a strong relationship with the professor. Additionally, it's possible that continuing education professors may not be motivated enough (due to off-work classes to older students) to be interested in working closely with students.
I live in the Bay area near Stanford and Santa Clara U and if someone has experience with these schools' evening classes (e.g. whether these schools offer independent study research projects with professors as continuing education courses) in particular then that would be very helpful.

Re: Continuing education/independent study course

Postby 20141023 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:21 am

Last edited by 20141023 on Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jmjm

Postby jmjm » Mon Dec 30, 2013 11:24 pm

kappycaft1 wrote:Either way, I think it would be overkill to go back to school just to get an academic LoR.