As a Freshman Undergrad, What Should I Be Doing For Softs? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Auraeolux

New

As a Freshman Undergrad, What Should I Be Doing For Softs?

Post by Auraeolux » Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:57 pm

Hopefully this is in the right section…

Hello,

Let's talk about the Freshman part first because I'm sure many are rolling their eyes about that . haha
I'm currently a first semester freshman, but I'll be a Sophmore at the end of this semester (in two days) and a Junior after Spring 2014. This was due to all the college credits that I accumulated in my Senior year of high school. Since I'm on a fast track toward graduation, I figured that now would be a good time to start actively planning for my career choice. Obviously my decision to be a lawyer is not set in stone, but I don't think there's any harm in gathering information!

My goal is to attend a T-14 b/c of the employment situation. I realize that my stats would play the biggest factor in the admissions process, but as you know softs are pretty important for H/Y/S etc. What should I be doing now to be competitive or, at the very least, not have my application tossed? I volunteered over a 1000 hours in High School , but I doubt that'll be any help now. Idk if it's considered a soft, but I currently intern at a highly regarded media relations agency. Besides that, I am not participating in any other activities that could be considered softs. Are there any other options, besides being in a club, that I could do in the short time (planning to K-JD) I have left?

Thanks!

Happy Gilmore

Bronze

Re: As a Freshman Undergrad, What Should I Be Doing For Softs?

Post by Happy Gilmore » Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:27 pm

The best thing you can do right now is to cure cancer or join the Olympics.