Would I be considered "damaged goods?" Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Excitotoxicity

New

Would I be considered "damaged goods?"

Post by Excitotoxicity » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:53 pm

I'm currently a second year PhD student attending my top choice graduate program. I receive my university's most valuable fellowship and am at the top of my class, but I'm not sure I want to continue. I drastically underestimated the amount of fine manual labor my laboratory would require and nothing in my life has induced the same combination of frustration, anger, and boredom. Secondarily, I have no friends or family whatsoever within a thousand miles. I haven't been entirely committed to a career in science for some time now and considered myself to be in graduate school largely for fun. I'm no longer having any fun. I've always thought that I might have an interest in pursuing patent law and I see that UC Berkeley's patent law program is ranked very highly. Furthermore, I have friends, family and a significant other in the immediate area. I've spent a little bit of time looking at practice LSAT tests and believe that with a little preparation I could achieve a perfect or nearly perfect score.

Here are the issues that give me pause:

[*]Admissions officers may perceive me as an unreliable candidate because I've dropped out of a previous program.
[*]Obtaining letters of recommendation would be difficult. I haven't been in college since 2010. Even if letters from faculty in my graduate program are sufficient, I might generate too much ill will by leaving to obtain them.

I'm very depressed right now and not in a good state to actually make this decision - I'm just putting out feelers. Any advice this forum has for me would be greatly appreciated.

banjo

Silver

Re: Would I be considered "damaged goods?"

Post by banjo » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:15 pm

I had similar circumstances and ended up at CCN (all with some money). A few points: