well well Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
alexjinye

Bronze

well well

Post by alexjinye » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:05 pm

/thread
Last edited by alexjinye on Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:47 am, edited 12 times in total.

drevo

Bronze

Re: should I transfer to an easier undergrad?

Post by drevo » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:41 pm

alexjinye wrote:Hi! I am a sophomore studying in a top 20 LAC right now.
I got 3.4ish gpa in my first year, which is pretty disappointing. I think I got this grade because everyone is smart here and professors expectations are demanding too.
I am thinking about transferring to a lower-tier state school in my third year such as Arizona U, Penn State.. I also plan to go to summer schools. I am hoping to pad my gpa in this way. If this is not enough, I am willing to study in college for another year(graduate in 5 years) and in the meantime go to another summer school.
Does this sounds like a plan? should I transfer to another easier university?
advice plz!!!
You will be unpleasantly surprised if you think transferring to a less prestigious school is going to increase your GPA. I don't know what school you go to and how the grade inflation/deflation is there, if any, but you gotta look in the mirror and realize that somebody is getting a higher GPA, so it is possible for you to get better grades. Grades are going to matter (for the most part) when you go to law school and are competing for jobs. You think you won't be around smart students and demanding professors?

Sorry if this comes off a little strong, but I am huge proponent of just accepting personal responsibility for things and hate when people blame things they can control on others. Also, the notion that attending some Top 20 whatever school means that you would get way better grades at a "lower-tier state school" is ridiculous.

alexjinye

Bronze

Post by alexjinye » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:20 pm