Only Have 1 LOR - Will I be Okay?!? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Squintz805

New

Only Have 1 LOR - Will I be Okay?!?

Post by Squintz805 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:57 pm

I graduated June 2012. I've tried reaching out to every Professor that is worth pursuing for a LOR and have come up empty handed. I asked my current manager for one as well and he didnt bite.

So, the plus side is that I do have 1 LoR from my intercollegiate cross country coach, and it seems this is going to be the only one I can get. I'm applying to alot of law schools that are between t20-t80.

My question is -- will my chances of being accepted be inhibited by the fact I only have 1 LoR and it is not a professor. Mind you, this LoR is extremely personal, well-written, and pretty much amazing in every single way.

For what it is worth: I have a 3.48/160

TheSpanishMain

Gold

Re: Only Have 1 LOR - Will I be Okay?!?

Post by TheSpanishMain » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:34 pm

Um...these other people you asked, they just said "no"? Did they say why?

But yes, I imagine 1 LOR from a non-academic source is going to hurt you somewhat. If I were an admissions guy, I would also have concerns about someone who is currently working (assuming it's a professional job) and didn't submit one from his/her boss.

Danger Zone

Platinum

Post by Danger Zone » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:36 pm

Are you an awful person?

You need to find a second. It's required for a lot of schools.

WaltGrace83

Silver

Post by WaltGrace83 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:36 pm

Squintz805 wrote:I graduated June 2012. I've tried reaching out to every Professor that is worth pursuing for a LOR and have come up empty handed. I asked my current manager for one as well and he didnt bite.

So, the plus side is that I do have 1 LoR from my intercollegiate cross country coach, and it seems this is going to be the only one I can get. I'm applying to alot of law schools that are between t20-t80.