GPA Addendum for college classes taken in High School Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
maasai

New

GPA Addendum for college classes taken in High School

Post by maasai » Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:40 pm

I took college classes as a high school junior and senior at the flagship public university of the state I grew up in. It was through a concurrent enrollment program for high-achieving high school students. My average GPA was 3.0 for the 3 college classes I took, all of which were sophomore and junior level college classes.

Since my two GPAs are so close to the GPA medians for T14, I feel like an addendum could help. I challenged myself as a high school student, although it ended up possibly hurting me in the long run - at least as far as law school is concerned.

My UGPA according to the LSAC is 3.65 but at the Big Ten school I graduated from it was a 3.70. It's unfortunate my college classes from high school drag it down, because a 3.7 seems to be a fairly decent GPA for getting into most of the T14.

Thoughts on an addendum?

rinkrat19

Diamond

Re: GPA Addendum for college classes taken in High School

Post by rinkrat19 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:14 pm

It won't help. At least you're not like most people with college credit from high school ("how was I supposed to know that college credits would matter?? wahhhh!") but you don't have a legit reason for the underperformance (getting chemo, taking care of six orphaned siblings, etc.). Even if you did have a legit reason, its effect would be negligible. Law schools don't get to report a different GPA to USNWR just because you wrote an addendum.

Ti Malice

Gold

Post by Ti Malice » Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:48 pm

No addendum. It won't help.

Cicero76

Silver

Post by Cicero76 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:59 pm

I have yet to hear a story of "I took college classes in high school and it turned out great for me." Someone should tell hs students to stop this.

rinkrat19

Diamond