Addendum...for a Good GPA?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wealtheow

Addendum...for a Good GPA?

Postby wealtheow » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:42 am

baleted.
Last edited by wealtheow on Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

t-14orbust

Re: Addendum...for a Good GPA?

Postby t-14orbust » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:45 am

wealtheow wrote:I graduated with a 3.77/4.00 from a good private college – LSAC keeps messing up my calc, so I’m not sure what the LDSAS is, probably a 3.76. Whatever. I know either a great GPA, probably sufficient for anything but HYS.

My concern is that I actually started out much stronger – at 3.93 the end of freshman year – and I know that a 3.93 is more in line with my capabilities. Lowest dip was soph year (3.6), then gradual rebuild thereafter, but never as high as frosh year. I’m nervous about the default implications of a “downward trend” without explanation - that classes got harder, or I stopped trying.

Unfortunately the actual explanation is that I was in an abusive relationship – something I am not too keen to divulge to an admissions committee for obvious reasons, even though I know it's nothing I should be ashamed of.

I’ve seen mixed recommendations regarding this sort of stuff on here. Most of the scenarios involve lower GPAs. Some people recommend writing about it, but keeping it extremely brief, almost clinical– “From X point to Z point, I was involved in an [emotionally/verbally/etc.] abusive relationship that negatively impacted my life and by extension my studies. I ended the relationship due to this behavior, took advantage of resources at school, and things improved drastically” or something to that effect. Others say spend a bit more time with it and spin it in a positive light; the adversity overcome addendum.

Any advice? Other than avoiding the issue entirely by getting a higher LSAT, which I am working on.

No. Stop

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:06 am