Law School Questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
itman

Law School Questions

Postby itman » Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:03 am

I'm new to the forum and have a few questions regarding law school.

3.7 GPA - Is this a competitive grade point average or should I try to get it to 3.8 by retaking a couple courses?
BS Information Technology - Will the law school administration look down on this degree? I know they want a lot of variety.
Excelsior College - Is this online school frowned upon by the administration?

I'm looking at applying specifically to a public law school in California. Currently, I am an Information Technician in the Navy and 20 years old. The reason I want to apply for law school is it is my passion like many similar areas pertaining to it such as philosophy, argumentation and politics. Since 15 years old I have been ambitious about becoming a lawyer.

I have two full ride options for law school, funding is not a problem as long as it is a public institution. Post 9/11 GI Bill and a state grant are at my fingertips. When I get out of the Navy, it will be January which means I will be waiting around till the fall semester begins. What are your recommendations during that time? I realize applying for a job may not be the best option if I have to move. Thanks in advance.

rinkrat19

Re: Law School Questions

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:26 am

3.7 is a competitive GPA, but you should try to get it to 3.8. Higher is better. With a 3.8 and a high enough LSAT, you are competitive for pretty much any school in the country.

Major does not matter, except perhaps as a tiebreaker between otherwise identical applicants.

A degree from an online school might hurt you a bit, but I imagine that any negative effect would be pretty much canceled by the fact that you were (I assume) completing this online degree while on active duty in the military. Military service is a great soft factor.