Content Deleted. Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
0heL

New

Content Deleted.

Post by 0heL » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:35 pm

Last edited by 0heL on Wed Oct 09, 2013 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

McGruff

Bronze

Re: SERIOUSLY Concerned Over C&F Issues

Post by McGruff » Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:03 pm

0heL wrote:Hey TLS,

Long story short, can someone tell me if the following will have a serious impact on my admissions cycle at the T14?

I have 4 disciplinary infractions at my undergrad, ranging from having a plastic bag over my fire director (so i could smoke cigarettes) to throwing a party in my dorm. All were pretty run of the mill, but I was punished for each of them. None of them were criminal offenses.

I have 8 traffic-related citations from the past 3 years, ranging from driving without insurance to careless driving (x2 of them). One of them is running a stop sign; I know I'm a bad driver. None of them are felonies or criminal offenses.

Will this impact my cycle?

TL;DR - Will 4 non-criminal disciplinary infractions from my undergrad and 8 non-criminal, non-felony traffic citations keep me from the T14?
I'd hazard a guess that it's not a good look. We'll never know how it'll play out until your cycle is over and we can use hindsight.

That said, I'd be less worried about your disciplinary infractions than the eight citations (which are criminal offenses I'm pretty sure) in 3 years. It just makes you look risky as all hell. It's not that you're a bad driver, it's that you've got an attitude and haven't decided, after the SEVENTH of these citations, that it might behoove you to pay greater attention to how you drive. Not trying to be harsh but blowing through stop signs isn't an immutable character trait, it's something you could stop doing but don't care enough to.