Early App or Better PS?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
TheMostDangerousLG

Early App or Better PS?

Postby TheMostDangerousLG » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:01 am

For the top 6 schools, which would you recommend: submitting my app earlier, or submitting my app a bit later with a better PS? I currently have what I think is a solid PS, but it's not exactly super personal. The two attorneys where I work recommended adding a bunch of stuff about my own background, and while I admit that it improves the statement, I'm having major trouble bringing it back to the quality of writing of the original statement. I know that at least for Harvard, an earlier app is a major boost. (I also know that Harvard is a pipe dream, but hence why I would need all of the boosts I can get.)

Do you think that the personal statement just needs to show that I'm a competent writer and not completely hateable, or should I take the time to submit one that may be of slightly lower writing caliber but that shows that I've (sort of) faced some adversity?

bp shinners

Re: Early App or Better PS?

Postby bp shinners » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:30 pm

TheMostDangerousLG wrote:The two attorneys where I work recommended adding a bunch of stuff about my own background

This worries me. It makes me think the statement has become weaker for the inclusion of these things. You don't want a long-form resume, and you don't want to throw a bunch of your background in - just tell one tale, and tell it well.

t-14orbust

Postby t-14orbust » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:33 pm

bp shinners wrote:
TheMostDangerousLG wrote:The two attorneys where I work recommended adding a bunch of stuff about my own background

This worries me. It makes me think the statement has become weaker for the inclusion of these things. You don't want a long-form resume, and you don't want to throw a bunch of your background in - just tell one tale, and tell it well.