Letter of Rec from waitressing job?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lnicole13

Letter of Rec from waitressing job?

Postby lnicole13 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:39 am

So I've been debating whether or not a letter of rec from my employer at my job would be beneficial to my application or not. Thought I'd ask for your input!

Con:
It's a waitressing job. Not that I'm embarrassed, it's how I've been making money to live, but it's nothing like a job at a law firm or anything. It also obviously says nothing about me academically.

Pro:
I've been working there for about 3 years and my employers have become like family. I know they would write me a glowing rec (I've also had some leadership experience in the restaurant as a manager) not just about my work ethic, but about me as a person, my character, etc. If it makes a difference, I just graduated so this was where I spent the majority of my free time outside of school.

I already have 2 LORs from professors, but I thought this might complement them nicely? Or maybe they might disregard it completely since it's not a "professional" job. Any thoughts or experience with this? Much appreciated.

ArtistOfManliness

Re: Letter of Rec from waitressing job?

Postby ArtistOfManliness » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:55 am

No.

heythatslife

Postby heythatslife » Thu Sep 19, 2013 6:19 am

ArtistOfManliness wrote:No.

+1

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:28 pm

This won't add much to your application, unfortunately. I'd skip it and find another academic LoR if you want to have a third in your pocket.

Nova

Postby Nova » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:48 pm

Its not going to hurt your app so you may as well throw it in.

jk148706

Postby jk148706 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 12:13 am

Nova wrote:Its not going to hurt your app so you may as well throw it in.

My thinking as well

malleus discentium

Postby malleus discentium » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:44 am

Nova wrote:Its not going to hurt your app so you may as well throw it in.