Letters of Recommendation from foreign work experience

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cbiv

Letters of Recommendation from foreign work experience

Postby cbiv » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:42 am

I am a non-traditional applicant. I have been working overseas for 5 years since graduating from college. I am using professors from college for my academic references but I would like to include a work-related reference as well but my supervisors do not speak English. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I have searched on the issue some but can`t find an answer. Would the original language with a professional translation included work? I was thinking of translating it myself and then having them send it but I am very reluctant to do this.

Thank you,
Last edited by cbiv on Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bp shinners

Re: Letters of Recommendation from foreign work experience

Postby bp shinners » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:38 pm

cbiv wrote:I am a non-traditional applicant. I have been working overseas for 5 years since graduating from college. I am using professors from college for my academic references but I would like to include a work-related reference as well but my supervisors do not speak English. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I have searched on the issue some but can`t find an answer. Would the original language with a professional translation included work? I was thinking of translating it myself and them having them send it but I am very reluctant to do this.

Thank you,

I'm not sure the process for this - though I would imagine the professors should find someone who can translate. However, definitely do not translate yourself. There's no way that ends up working well.

cbiv

Postby cbiv » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:15 pm

bp shinners wrote: