Should I Submit Addenda? (GPA, LSAT, TFA)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Submit an addendum?

Only for the GPA
29%
Only for the LSAT
14%
Only for TFA
29%
For the GPA and LSAT
No votes
For the GPA and TFA
29%
For the LSAT and TFA
No votes
For all three
No votes

Total votes: 7

girlmonster

Should I Submit Addenda? (GPA, LSAT, TFA)

Postby girlmonster » Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:00 am

Firstly, thank you to everyone on this forum who patiently expends time and energy to help others.

There are a few situations which I'm wondering if I should submit addenda for:

1) My GPA, which was 3.58 (I graduated three years ago). I do believe this was affected by the fact that I was (and still am) taking care of my mother who has several serious health conditions, and was working to help financially support her.

2) My disappointing LSAT score. In preparing for the test, I completed all practice tests and only scored below 175 once. My average and median was 178, but I was sick when I took it the first time and scored a 167 (I briefly passed out in the RC section and the proctors were just staring at me). Should I explain that in an addendum? I re-took, but I think the stress from having to re-take and the 167 score got to me. I had never experienced test anxiety before, but now I understand what it feels like. I blanked out during LG (normally my strongest section) and scored a 172. Of course I wouldn't explain the 172 situation in an addendum. I don't think the admissions committee would like to hear me say I crumbled under pressure. My inquiry only refers to the 167; I'm just providing the information about the 172 to illustrate that it wasn't a substantial enough increase to explain itself.