How to disclose depression?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Mernan34

How to disclose depression?

Postby Mernan34 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:14 pm

The only reason I'm considering disclosing that I have struggled with depression is because it took a huge hit on my academic performance. Here's the my story:
I have 2-3 w's, my overall gpa will come out to be close to under a 3.0. I attended UCSD for undergrad, graduated in 3 years. My grades don't reflect my actual potential. I didn't know I was actually depressed until I couldn't handle it anymore and sought help mid through my third/last year. I was tired of trying so hard and failing to meet my goals regardless. I was diagnosed as clinically depressed, started medication and there were improvements all around. Since I graduated thereafter there isn't much to really back up this upward trend. I graduated this August so I have some of summer school to claim.

Not sure how to go about explaining this or if I even should.

t-14orbust

Re: How to disclose depression?

Postby t-14orbust » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:19 pm

I doubt it will matter either way. As I said on your other post, this is fairly common. What you can do is destroy the LSAT and your summer quarter. Maybe then an explanation that your grades were not an accurate representation of your ability might be more credible. Even then, I highly doubt you would perform much better than your numbers will dictate.

Mernan34

Postby Mernan34 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:32 pm

I went from being a c student to an a student. I'm not worried about the LSAT. I'm confident I can do well. I think it's fair to say there is credibility there. My problem is I don't know how to go about explaining it regardless if you find it "common".

t-14orbust

Postby t-14orbust » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:40 pm