Graduate early or on time to boost GPA? Need advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ballsoharduniversity

Graduate early or on time to boost GPA? Need advice

Postby ballsoharduniversity » Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:24 pm

I'm set to graduate a semester early this December. I'm studying abroad for my final semester so I'm taking only 3 classes, one of which is the only requirement I need to graduate and the other two being joke classes. There is no reason I shouldn't get A's in these classes (our abroad classes are notorious for being easy), and if I do get straight A's, I will have a final GPA of 3.34. I know it's not that great, but I didn't feel it was necessary for me to graduate on time next spring when I will be done with my major requirements a semester early. I go to school in NYC so the cost of tuition, plus rent, etc. would not be ideal for my parents, though they have said they would be open to letting me graduate on time and paying for tuition for one more semester.

I've been doing some GPA calculations and realized that if I were to graduate on time and just take a minimum of 12 credits worth of joke classes when I get back from being abroad and get A's, I could boost my GPA up from a 3.34 to a 3.4. It sounds so tempting to just graduate on time with all my friends, be with my sorority sisters, and boost my GPA with easy classes, but I can get a 3.4 ONLY IF I get straight A's while I'm abroad in Sydney and in NYC for spring semester. However, if I get one A-, I will fall short at 3.39. The classes that I would take in the spring would be Piano, African Dance, etc. (elective classes), which are notorious for being easy A's at my school, but what if by some chance I get an A-?

Another issue is if I were to go back to NYC to graduate on time, I would have to register for classes in November, but I won't know my final grades for my classes in Sydney until the end of December to see if it's worth going back to NYC or not.