Bad Letter of Recommendation--what to do?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
iiibbystar

Bad Letter of Recommendation--what to do?

Postby iiibbystar » Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:09 pm

Hi all,

I am having an issue with getting a decent letter of recommendation from my professor. I was wondering if I could get some feedback or help on how to go about this. I graduated from college last year, and have just started asking my professors for letters of recommendations (I know, I should've timed it better). I had asked one of the professors I took 6 classes with in college to write me a strong letter of rec. I took several small seminar classes with her and excelled in all of them so I thought she would be able to give detailed insight into my abilities as a student. She sent me a draft of her letter to check for grammar errors, and I was horrified to find that it is very generic and basically outlines the classes I took with her, and what I did for each class. There was nothing personal about it, and I would even dare to say that it was not well written. She asked me to review it before she sends it out on Monday, but I don't think I would even consider using this letter. I would like to ask her to revise it and include more personal details, and exclude the info that anyone could find on my transcript. But, she's been kind enough to write me a letter, and I don't want to sound pushy or rude. Is there any way I could politely ask her to adjust the letter and make it better? What can I do in this situation? This is really stressing me out because this whole time I thought she would be one of my stronger recommenders. It's discouraging, and I'm really worried. Please help!
Last edited by iiibbystar on Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wtrc

Re: Bad Letter of Recommendation--what to do?

Postby wtrc » Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:18 pm