Am I being unrealistic?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
attackpizza

Am I being unrealistic?

Postby attackpizza » Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:38 pm

Hi there. I am currently studying for the October 2013 LSAT seven years after not making the curve at a TTTT (long story short: went to law school straight out of undergrad for no good reason and totally was not ready).

I have been working as a legal assistant since 2006, with the past three years in Big Law. I have a 3.3 undergrad GPA and I'm hoping for a 168-170 LSAT. I live in San Francisco, am married and have a baby, so there is no way we can swing law school if we stay here as cost of living and child care is just too high if we eliminate my income. The prospect of getting any sort of useful scholarship from Hastings is nil, I have no shot at Boalt or Stanford and USF just doesn't seem worth it.

My mother-in-law lives in Indianapolis and has offered to help out with COL/child care and some tuition costs if I can make it in to IU-Bloomington. She would prefer IU-Indy as it would be convenient based solely on location; but as SF natives, my husband and I would be far more comfortable in Bloomington, not to mention that I have a shot at doing better than IU-Indy.

We're pretty sure we do not want to stay in Indiana, but we also are definitely done with San Francisco. We'd consider Chicago, Detroit and New York as places to re-settle as my husband is in the fine dining industry and we kind of need to go where the jobs are for him, but will I stand any chance getting into a major market (or Detroit) with a Bloomington JD?