Undergrad Random Questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
atlas153

Undergrad Random Questions

Postby atlas153 » Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Hey I am new to all of this, so I hope I posted this in the right place. I just had a few questions that I was hoping some more experienced people could answer and hopefully help me out some. I will be a Junior this fall and so far have just been keeping my grades high (3.98) and am planning to take the LSAT next June. The problem I think that I am facing is the amount of extracurricular that I have and leadership positions in them. I am involved in a fraternity and am on a few of the committees but nothing like President, also just a regular DJ at the college radio station, and lastly just part of a pre-grad school preparation program.

First, I really don't have much of a timeline for preparing for law school (I am the first in my family, so it is new to them too) and I was wondering what a good general plan is?

I know there is no perfect extracurricular activity list but what are some good ones that I could join this late in the game and hopefully get involved with?

What is a good way to start making connections to help out when you need letters of recommendations written later on?

I am 100% proud of the university I go to (Appalachian State University), but one of my biggest fears is the fact that it does not hold a lot of prestige and I am afraid that this will solely hold me back from getting into a good school? Is this true?

Looking forward to next summer, I hope to receive some type of internship where I can start getting a foot in the door with law firms, does anyone have any advise about when/where/how to apply for something along those lines? I did some just simple shadowing this summer.

Lastly, what else are some good things to start doing that will help my chances that I haven't already mentioned?

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks!!

kay2016

Re: Undergrad Random Questions