Who should I ask for LOR? (and how??)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
samantha.b233

Who should I ask for LOR? (and how??)

Postby samantha.b233 » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:26 am

I graduated in 2011 and did not ask for any LOR back then. I attended a public school where class size is rarely under 50. I am pretty sure most of the professors I took class with have no idea who I am. Mostly I worked with TAs, but then again probably most TAs don't remember who I am, either.

So here are three people I have in mind from whom I should ask my LOR.

The first one is a professor who was very impressed with my term paper and my presentation (part of the final). As far as I can tell, he still remembered me back in Feb/Mar this year. But when I sent him an email after getting my June LSAT score back to "share the joy," I had not yet received any response from him. It has been a bit more than 2 weeks since then. Should I send another one? Or maybe he just doesn't check his email during summer...

The second one is a TA. We exchanged emails back in 2011, when I got hired by my current firm. I did tell him that I am going to apply for law school and hope that we can keep in touch. Same as above, I sent him an email a couple weeks ago to "share the joy" and no response so far. I found out he has another email address that is not the school email. Even though the school email is the one that he disclosed (back in 2010), I feel tempted to send a second email to the address that I found. Is it creepy? I did google him but the address is on his public website...

The third one is another professor. She very likely has no idea who I am. But I wonder if I should just try, simply because she is a licensed lawyer, she taught Business Law and I received an A- in that class. Now the question here is, how should I approach her. The last time we talked, it was back in 2011 and the topic was probably homework/finals/logistic issues...

Can anyone please give me some clue?