difference between 2.95 and 3.0 GPA for super splitter

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
littleaaron

difference between 2.95 and 3.0 GPA for super splitter

Postby littleaaron » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:05 pm

I have read over and over again that having a 3.0 LSDAS gpa is worlds away from having anything less, even like a 2.99 even if you have a decent lsat -- like 172/173-ish

I am trying to confirm this, but there's so few data points that i am now turning to TLS for thoughts on just how much difference it makes.

I am calculating a 2.95 GPA, lsdas. I'm wondering if it would be worth fighting tooth and nail to find SOME way to get it up just that tiny tiny bit--i'm talking like petitions, hundreds of hours pouring over school bylaws, pestering the registrar—basically, since I graduated a while ago, it would be a huge hassle for no guarantee of a payoff.

If a 2.95 is comparable to a 3.0, I might not go through all of the trouble (like, I'm talking a LOT of trouble, and it might all be for nothing). But if that extra .05 point will make a huge difference, like maybe getting me into a t-14 that's not northwestern (not that anything is wrong with NU, it's great, but I love me some options).

IS there a significant difference between 2.95 and 3.0? I realize that if it's the difference between taking one more class or not, or another semester or whatever for some people, i should do it. But I am all graduated, so it would entail doing lots of research and hoping for a loophole or a petition or some other hail mary solution.