GPA Trend Addendum?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
shootforthestars

GPA Trend Addendum?

Postby shootforthestars » Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:48 am

I should lead by saying I graduated with a pretty high LSAC GPA - ~3.95 (although my school doesn't count A+s, so my GPA according to the school is ~3.9). That said, starting from the summer after my freshman year to the summer before my senior year, my GPA was significantly better - a 4.0 by my school's standards every semester (for seven semesters straight) and higher by LSAC's. Come to my senior year, it dropped to ~3.85 both semesters.

I have two main reasons - I took 19 credits the first semester and 22 the second semester, all hard classes, and I had leadership positions in five different student organizations at the same time. That was incredibly difficult to balance. On top of that, I got sicker and sicker as the year progressed (just went to the hospital last week, actually, which has really thrown off my LSAT prep...hopefully there I'll at least get the consolation prize of some answers/a diagnosis), so I was having to deal with that, too.

I know GPA matters a lot (although not as much as LSAT), and I've read a lot of schools talking about how the trend over the years matters to them as well. As things currently look, if you're just looking at my GPA it seems like I got senioritis and started slacking off. Either that, or it looks like I was comparatively bad at my second major (which I basically completed entirely my senior year). Neither of these seem good. How would I approach an addendum about this? Is an addendum even a good idea?

t-14orbust

Re: GPA Trend Addendum?

Postby t-14orbust » Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:49 am

Last edited by t-14orbust on Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thenewguy

Postby thenewguy » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:47 pm

So you're asking how to write an addendum explaining your 3.95?

Barack O'Drama

Postby Barack O'Drama » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:50 pm

lol