169 LSAT 2.7 UGPA Engineer

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
b2r90

169 LSAT 2.7 UGPA Engineer

Postby b2r90 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:27 pm

Hi TLS,

I have an idea about how this is going to go from all of the reading I have done on here but it will be nice to get some advice unique to my situation so here it goes.

My goal is to get into intellectual property law. I have a degree in Biomedical Engineering from a top 20 University. My GPA is far from stellar as you can see, however there is definitely an upward trend. Some things that may be considered soft factors are that I have two really good engineering design projects on my resume (one in particular that has some esteem), I will have 2 years of work experience at big engineering companies by the time I apply (next year) and 3 years of experience by the time I plan to attend. I have good extracurriculars including an organization where I was on the executive board.

My questions for you are:

1. What are the best schools I have a shot at? Do I have any chance whatsoever at Northwestern, Cornell, Georgetown or Austin as I stand now? What about Vanderbilt, Minnesota, GW, Wash U or Emory? Or even Fordham as I am a New Yorker and I love the city.

2. With the schools you picked, what do you think my job prospects are providing that I perform well?

3. In the next year what can I do to improve my chances of getting into better schools? I know retaking the LSAT is the general answer, but my PTs leveled off at around 167/168 and I am afraid of performing lower. How much would performing lower hurt me? And lastly, would passing the patent bar help at all?

Thank you for your time anyone who replies I know I said a mouthful. I appreciate any advice you all can give.

ws81086n

Re: 169 LSAT 2.7 UGPA Engineer

Postby ws81086n » Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:39 pm