path to legal academia. seeking some informed advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
law&research

New

path to legal academia. seeking some informed advice

Post by law&research » Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:42 pm

hello, I am a 4th year PhD student in economics focusing on law and economics research. Law and economics is a very small subfield within economics and most econ departments do not have anyone working exclusively in this domain. Historically law schools have hired non-JD economist for this particiular subfield but now that's becoming rare if not completely impossible. So I am considering going to law school to acquire the necessary credentials for legal academia. In addition I also think the law school curriculum will broaden my knowledge and comprehhension of law, informing future research. It's something I wanted to do before PhD and I think it can be very fulfilling experience, this is really the primary reason, my adviser thinks I can get a job somewhere in an econ dept.

I have actually taken the LSAT about 5 years ago now and scored 177 then but a retake will be in order given the time. My UGPA is ~3.8 and Grad GPA is ~3.7, a few papers I'm revising hopefully for publication etc.

My questions are what are the best programs for legal academia? I presume Harvard, Stanford, and Yale. I looked through the Yale Law school site and see that they offer a Masters in Law program, would that be more appropriate? what are my chances for those programs? I suspect my grad gpa is a bit low but grades weren't really big deal in grad school. Chicago, Upenn, Columbia are other programs I'm targeting cause of research fit.

lastly finances is obviously important and it's unclear whether those schools offer any sort of scholarship? If not what type of schools will offer good financial package? If I work at a school where I'm pursuing my law dgree, in some post doc position for example, will tuition be waived?