+1, +2, +3, +4

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
raferna3

+1, +2, +3, +4

Postby raferna3 » Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:26 pm

I'm a noob, so please forgive me if this seems like a dumb question, but I have seen these +1, +2, +3, etc. numbers up, not only on these threads, but on some sites in reference to soft factors' impact on admissions decisions.

IE:
Minority: +2
Started a business: +3
Military Service: +3
etc, etc.

Now, my question is, what exactly are these plus-numbers added to? LSAT score? Clearly, I know they are not added to your OFFICIAL LSAT score, but are these points added to what you have and that is the number considered by adcomms, or is it in reference to some kind of numeric school applicant ranking system? I was under the impression that the adding of points to an applicant due to minority status was struck down by SCOTUS in Grutter v. Michigan.

Any help in clearing this up would be appreciated. Also, if anyone knows a reliable chart which reflects how adcomms look at softs please provide a link, as I have seen many which seem to vary quite a bit.

francesfarmer

Re: +1, +2, +3, +4

Postby francesfarmer » Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:48 pm

That's not how softs work.

Softs that actually matter: military and curing cancer/etc.

Softs don't add points to any numerical aspect of your application. I would say the above softs matter because they are positively correlated with applicants outperforming their numbers (or performing well for their numbers), from my experience stalking LSN forever.

I don't know if I would consider URM a soft--but URM status (NA>AA>hispanic [PR and chicano only]) has a real impact on admissions.

Check out lawschoolnumbers.com.

raferna3

Postby raferna3 » Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:57 pm

francesfarmer wrote:That's not how softs work.

Softs that actually matter: military and curing cancer/etc.