Make sense to go if full ride?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tbcthk

Make sense to go if full ride?

Postby tbcthk » Sun Jul 07, 2013 6:23 pm

I graduated from a top engineering school with a 3.8 GPA but went to work in finance. I earn a good salary but have always had an interest in law. I have read many horrific articles about not going to law school. But I wonder what everyone opinion is if I do part time at a top 50 school with full ride scholarship. I am not interested in practicing law after graduation. I will keep my full time job. I want to

(a) use the skills to complement my job
(b) have an intellectual education / experience
(c) do pro bono work, as it has always been my passion to give back

Thanks in advance for all comments!

thewaves

Re: Make sense to go if full ride?

Postby thewaves » Sun Jul 07, 2013 6:36 pm

tbcthk wrote:I graduated from a top engineering school with a 3.8 GPA but went to work in finance. I earn a good salary but have always had an interest in law. I have read many horrific articles about not going to law school. But I wonder what everyone opinion is if I do part time at a top 50 school with full ride scholarship. I am not interested in practicing law after graduation. I will keep my full time job. I want to

B and C can easily be done without having to go to law school. In what way will the law school material complement your current job?

tbcthk

Postby tbcthk » Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:33 pm

thewaves wrote:
tbcthk wrote:I graduated from a top engineering school with a 3.8 GPA but went to work in finance. I earn a good salary but have always had an interest in law. I have read many horrific articles about not going to law school. But I wonder what everyone opinion is if I do part time at a top 50 school with full ride scholarship. I am not interested in practicing law after graduation. I will keep my full time job. I want to