LOR - Who should I pick? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tbq1988

New

LOR - Who should I pick?

Post by tbq1988 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:12 pm

Hello all! I have a quandary I am currently facing regarding LORs. I graduated in May 2011 so I will be out of school for three years by the time I attend law school. After graduating, I immediately began working at a prosecutor's office as a legal assistant and have worked there the last two years. I am hoping to base my application on my volunteer work and desire to go into public interest work when I graduate from law school. This is perhaps cliche, but I am hoping my work experience gives some credence to my desire.

1. Is it alright to only have one academic LOR? I have spoken with one of my former professors and he has thankfully agreed to write a LOR for me but I do not have anyone else in mind who could write about my academic abilities. Even the professor I spoke with did not specifically remember me but after showing him how I performed in his class he was more than willing to write something.

2. Is it advisable to ask one or two of the attorneys I work with to write a LOR?

3. I have been heavily involved in volunteer work in my community. Would it be alright to ask one of the organizers to write a LOR? Some of the volunteer work involved significant leadership positions and I am hoping to highlight this in my application.

Thanks for you input!

bp shinners

Gold

Re: LOR - Who should I pick?

Post by bp shinners » Wed Jun 26, 2013 11:53 am

tbq1988 wrote:1. Is it alright to only have one academic LOR? I have spoken with one of my former professors and he has thankfully agreed to write a LOR for me but I do not have anyone else in mind who could write about my academic abilities. Even the professor I spoke with did not specifically remember me but after showing him how I performed in his class he was more than willing to write something.