Low GPA that is not truly representative Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Edrachlis

New

Low GPA that is not truly representative

Post by Edrachlis » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:40 pm

Hello All,

I am a recent undergrad graduate and am currently studying for the LSAT. My problem is that my undergrad gpa is just not representative of how smart/hardworking I truly am. I did not really get my mind right until closer to senior year when I finally felt like I had a direction to go in. I am actually VERY smart but just didn't put the effort in when i didn't have a direction and now i regret it fully. Hopefully my LSAT score can show that I am above average, but how much would it really help even if I got a perfect score with a 3.0/3.1 gpa. I want to get into top tier schools and I again know I can do it once I am there. Is there anything that could possible help my chances? Am I completely screwed? Should I just accept having to go to a Lower ranked school?

Any advice would be extremely helpful, be as honest as possible I want realistic answers for the real world.

Thanks for listening to a stressed out kid.

cinephile

Gold

Re: Low GPA that is not truly representative

Post by cinephile » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:45 pm

No, you should never ever apply to lower ranked schools because there will be no jobs when you finish. So it's either get into a good school with good prospects or just don't go.

And hopefully you will succeed on this LSAT and your GPA will be irrelevant (or at least of minimal importance). But if not, you can always retake the LSAT. And yes, a 180 will help you overcome your GPA.

And there really isn't anything else that can help you overcome a low GPA. Many people were in the same situation as you, so it doesn't really distinguish you from the other 3.0s out there. And at the end of the day, law school admissions is really a numbers game.

So just focus on the LSAT and things will be great!

CardozoLaw09

Gold