Don't have much WE - will more help? "Real job" or intern?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

"Real job" or internship?

Real job
40%
Internship
40%
Neither matters
20%

Total votes: 10

shootforthestars

Don't have much WE - will more help? "Real job" or intern?

Postby shootforthestars » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:25 pm

So, parents are pushing me really hard to get a part-time job. Not a good job, just any job - we're talking McDonald's. Money is not their concern, but they claim that it'll look bad for me applying to law schools if I don't have real-world nitty gritty work experience prior to applying to law school (having worked as a tutor, I'm told, doesn't count).

Thoughts? Is it going to make me look bad that I haven't had any "real world experience" (which, for the purpose of this discussion, is apparently limited to a minimum wage job)? Know that any job I get currently really can't be a substantial one (read: nothing that requires a degree) because I'm only around for a semester and good jobs don't tend to hire people knowing they'll be gone in a matter of months.

Alternatively to the job at McDonald's, I could do an unpaid internship with a local non-profit. Since I'm interested in public service, I'm thinking that may support an ongoing narrative of being service-minded and therefore be more useful than a McDonald's job in terms of law school apps. That said, I definitely admit I don't know much when it comes to this so I would appreciate input from others to go on.

What do you all think - "real job" or internship? Or do either of them even matter?

Thanks so much!

Re: Don't have much WE - will more help? "Real job" or intern?

Postby 09042014 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:46 pm

You can probably do both.

Ti Malice

Postby Ti Malice » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:15 pm