Application help

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
onesmallstep

Application help

Postby onesmallstep » Thu Jun 20, 2013 3:02 pm

I'm a noob and in need of your help, friends. Turns out my school doesn't have a pre-law advisor, so I'm kind of on my own... :(
I'm trying to apply for the 2013-2014 cycle.
I went into LSAC to start my applications but all of the schools only have Fall 2013/Transfer as options for terms. Realized that applications aren't even open yet.

Well then...
1. Should I still purchase CRS now?
2. How do I ask my professors for recommendations if the applications aren't open? Am I still able to list them as recommenders on my profile? What happens when I do that, by the way? Do they receive an email from LSAC telling them that I've listed them as a recommender, and will they also have access to the necessary forms, or do I have to print stuff out or download them and bring them materials they need? Can they upload/send LoRs to LSAC before applications are open?

HALP

Tekrul

Re: Application help

Postby Tekrul » Thu Jun 20, 2013 3:24 pm

Applications will open in the fall. You should purchase CAS to get started uploading your transcript and lor's so they'll be ready to go as soon as schools start accepting apps. Also, the October test is the last test accepted for this upcoming cycle.

I'd ask them by email or in person if they would be willing to write you a strong letter or rec. If they agree, get all the info you'll need to fill out their recommendation form. You'll need to find the professors' university address, full name, and phone/email contact info on your own - you supply this information to LSAC and the web form automatically produces a form that they need to attach to their letter of rec.