What is needed for a full ride?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jgibbs444

What is needed for a full ride?

Postby jgibbs444 » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:52 pm

I am currently an undergraduate student majoring in engineering, and I was just curious as to what credentials are required/needed for a full ride to schools like UMN, UWISC, UMICH, UChic, and Northwestern.

GPA?
LSAT?
Need-based?

Thanks!

Dmini7

Re: What is needed for a full ride?

Postby Dmini7 » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:55 pm

jgibbs444 wrote:I am currently an undergraduate student majoring in engineering, and I was just curious as to what credentials are required/needed for a full ride to schools like UMN, UWISC, UMICH, UChic, and Northwestern.

GPA?
LSAT?
Need-based?

Thanks!

GPA=above 75th percentile
LSAT= above 75th percentile
need-based=(unknown?)

In all seriousness, its hard to predict what will get you a full ride. For NU, apply ED and if your accepted you get a full ride, thats really the only one I can tell you at.

gnomgnomuch

Postby gnomgnomuch » Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:03 pm

generally getting your LSAT/GPA above the schools 75% will get you close to a full ride (or possible the full ride). However plenty of applicants will have those grades so you'd need something on your resume/LOR/personal statement to stand out.

TripTrip

Postby TripTrip » Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:11 pm

gnomgnomuch wrote:However plenty of applicants will have those grades so you'd needsomething on your resume/LOR/personal statement your LSAT score to stand out.

Nova

Postby Nova » Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:20 pm

Midwest is the best

Sometimes above both medians will cut it at places that only care about medians (UMN). My ex is on a full ride there and her stats were 168/3.8

Typically above both 75ths though.

Nova

Postby Nova » Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:22 pm

WUSTL just gave out full rides to 3.3/166 applicants

Probably because they desperately want to keep their 166 median and were not 100% confident they would