LOR Advice/Suggestion

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
CountryRoads

LOR Advice/Suggestion

Postby CountryRoads » Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:12 pm

Hey everyone, just a quick question...

I have been preparing to apply to law schools and noticed that in addition to multiple LORs, the majority of law schools require that a LOR come from a recent professor. While I have suitable LORs from various backgrounds, unfortunately I have never asked any professors of mine to consider writing for me. In addition to that, over my final year as an undergrad, I didn't really have any professors I was particularly close with or developed a significant relationship with other than that of an average student/professor relationship. Due to this fact, I have been very hesitant and somewhat nervous to approach any professors about writing a LOR for me. I have always achieved above average grades, and am proud of my overall GPA and performance in undergrad, I was just concerned that it would be difficult for me to convince any professors to write a worthy LOR without knowing much about me beyond the classroom.

I was curious if anybody has been in any similar situations and would have any sort of advice or support for me. Any kind words would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot

sam62188

Re: LOR Advice/Suggestion

Postby sam62188 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:06 am

I am also in the same situation (sorry didn't mean to piggyback but a second thread seemed unnecessary). I have been out of school for 3 years now and I never made any relationships to my professors. Another problem is that my grades were weak so it will be difficult to get someone to put their reputation on the line for me.

Would contacting the pre-law advisor at my UG campus be a good place to start? I really want to avoid being rude and asking improperly.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:19 am

sam62188 wrote:I really want to avoid being rude and asking improperly.

It's hard to ask improperly.