Former Employer Is Going to Badmouth Me-- OCI/LS Apps/C&F

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bizzybone1313

Former Employer Is Going to Badmouth Me-- OCI/LS Apps/C&F

Postby bizzybone1313 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:33 am

I hope all is well today guys. I need some advice. This shit gives me anxiety all of the time.

When I graduated from undergrad in 2008, I got offered 4 jobs. Unfortunately, I accepted the wrong one and ended working with a bunch of pricks. At this first job, I worked there for 2 1/2 years and then jumped ship to another company for a year.

When I went to the second company, the first one tried to get me fired by changing my title and contacting my new employer to talk shit. These guys have a significant ax to grind.

I am worried they are going to badmouth me to the bar and try to make me fail C&F. I am also concerned about what might be considered a discrepancy between the title I report on my LS apps and what they report to the bar. The title they are going to report is not remotely close to the manager one I had-- they are going to say I did administrative type work.

I also am considering leaving them off my resume when I go to OCI, but I know I am going to be questioned of this two year gap on my resume. These guys are no doubt going to talk shit about me and try to prevent me from getting a job. Maybe I would get lucky and the firm wouldn't ask me when I graduated from undergrad and I could get away with not listing them. I would just need to get my foot in the door for a summer 2L and prove myself.

What do I do? I am going to apply to LS this upcoming fall.

Re: Former Employer Is Going to Badmouth Me-- OCI/LS Apps/C&F

Postby 09042014 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:38 am

bizzybone1313 wrote:I hope all is well today guys. I need some advice. This shit gives me anxiety all of the time.