Writing your own LOR?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LaBelleBarrister

Writing your own LOR?

Postby LaBelleBarrister » Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:44 pm

I work for a contracting company and approached my branch manager about writing a LOR for law school on my behalf. He was more than happy to, actually, but asked that I draft the letter for him that includes the necessary information and said that he would edit and enhance it into a final document.

I have never done this before, and all of my previous people who wrote LORs on my behalf did it on their own. Are there any rules/guidelines for writing your own LOR? Have any of you done this in the past? What do you think it is important to include while writing your own LOR? What are law schools really looking for in a LOR, do you think? And lastly, how long should it be?

Thanks so much in advance, guys! :D

Ti Malice

Re: Writing your own LOR?

Postby Ti Malice » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:03 pm

How many academic LORs do you have? To the extent that law schools care about LORs at all, they want to see academic evaluations more than anything else. Most employer LORs are pretty useless. What are your duties in your job, and what are the most impressive things your branch manager has seen you do?

jbagelboy

Postby jbagelboy » Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:31 pm

Ti Malice wrote:How many academic LORs do you have? To the extent that law schools care about LORs at all, they want to see academic evaluations more than anything else. Most employer LORs are pretty useless. What are your duties in your job, and what are the most impressive things your branch manager has seen you do?

This, plus, in order for an LOR to be at all valid, you have to waive rights to see it. I'm not sure how you could ever waive rights to see an LOR and be its primary author. Seems a pretty bad ethical breach. If your manager isn't willing to pen the letter him/herself, I'd ask someone else.

jas1503

Postby jas1503 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:15 pm