Admission advice for a junior in undergrad.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
DSD2013

Admission advice for a junior in undergrad.

Postby DSD2013 » Sun May 26, 2013 10:34 pm

Hello,

I am currently an undergraduate in my junior year majoring in biology with a 3.7 GPA. I will be taking the LSAT in June of next year.

I would love to hear advice from people regarding things that would definitely help when put on an application for a top law school. What kind of community service/ extracurricular things should I pursue that law schools love to see?

So far, I have worked for a full year as a Physics supplemental instructor, helped for 1.5 years at a clinic for local patients in the community, and have the opportunity to do research under a professor and possibly earn a publication in the field of Biology.

Any other ideas, please?

Also, do law schools prefer students receive letters of recommendation from professors in which classes they have earned A's in, or would it still be fine to get a letter of recommendation from a professor in which class you earned, for example, a B?

Thanks.

Daily_Double

Re: Admission advice for a junior in undergrad.

Postby Daily_Double » Sun May 26, 2013 10:38 pm

Your GPA is better than mine can ever be. Don't ruin it. Go enjoy college, consider working before law school, and ravage the LSAT. But specifically, enjoy college, it flys by.

txdude45

Postby txdude45 » Sun May 26, 2013 10:41 pm

DSD2013 wrote:Hello,

I am currently an undergraduate in my junior year majoring in biology with a 3.7 GPA. I will be taking the LSAT in June of next year.

I would love to hear advice from people regarding things that would definitely help when put on an application for a top law school. What kind of community service/ extracurricular things should I pursue that law schools love to see?