Terrible UG Freshman Year, T6/T14 Goal Advice?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Bhaal

Terrible UG Freshman Year, T6/T14 Goal Advice?

Postby Bhaal » Sat May 25, 2013 11:22 pm

Hello everyone. I am pretty new here and so it is a pleasure to virtually meet all of you. I am a soon-to-be sophomore at a SUNY school where I initially started down the pre-med route for the age-old poor reason of appeasing my mother. After a year of nearly all pre-med courses (huge mistake, especially for freshman year), I have a paltry 2.63 university GPA brought up to a 2.95 LSAC GPA due to some community college credits I retain from high school. I feel like a failure right now. I won't make excuses, but several things this past year did not go in my favor. I realized, a bit too late in my opinion, that I hated all these science courses and had no real drive to become a physician as my mother (ironically, neither did she :P), I did not adjust well to having roommates (a bit introverted, need my private space to unwind and meditate), and most importantly, I was arrogant and foolish. I should have studied more, I should have taken my studies more seriously, and should have done what it took to get the grades I wanted, but I grew complacent from my senior year of high school and onward (was one of those AP class-taking, good SAT score A students who didn't put forth much effort and just "got" things).