Advice needed!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mike140

Advice needed!

Postby mike140 » Sun May 12, 2013 3:12 pm

Hi all. I'm new to this law school thing and a friend suggested I use TLS for advice. I went to a small private school undergrad in Boston, worked for a few years while doing my MBA, and now have decided to go to law school. I didn't have the best undergrad GPA but did quite well in my grad program. I got a 153 on my LSAT which was quite honestly the best I could do. I want to work in the public sector and help people. I applied to some schools in the Boston, NYC, Chicago, and LA area. As of now, the best school I've gotten into is Syracuse (also accepted at Brooklyn Law, Rutgers, Cardozo, Northeastern). I'm quite interested in Syracuse because of their JD/MPA program. As you may know, their MPA program at the Maxwell School is the top ranked of its kind in the country. I hope to bust my butt for the next three years and make something of myself.

Based on my prospects, do you think that's a decent option for me?

Thank you, in advance, for your assistance.

HuskyHopeful

Re: Advice needed!

Postby HuskyHopeful » Sun May 12, 2013 3:27 pm

Syracuse tuition is way too high for no job prospects, and unless you are a URM I will assume you are paying sticker. If you cant break 160, I honestly wouldn't go to law school and would investigate other career paths.

mike140

Postby mike140 » Sun May 12, 2013 3:43 pm

Thanks for the tip. I'm confident I can dispel the theory that a high LSAT score correlates to success in law school. My career prospects now are decent but I won't be happy. I need to give this a shot.

PM2353

Postby PM2353 » Sun May 12, 2013 4:00 pm

mike140 wrote:Thanks for the tip. I'm confident I can dispel the theory that a high LSAT score correlates to success in law school. My career prospects now are decent but I won't be happy. I need to give this a shot.