Advice please? T14 or T50?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Hoosier574

Advice please? T14 or T50?

Postby Hoosier574 » Sat May 11, 2013 6:35 pm

Hello everyone! I hope to make this post as brief as possible, but I have a lot of questions to be answered (so thank you in advance for your time). I suppose my main question, which is quite broad, is regarding how logical it would be for me to get into a decent law school. I've browsed the forums for a few months, but I figured posting would be the most effective method at this point. Basically, I was a mediocre college student and it took me 5.5 years to get my degree. I had an undiagnosed medical condition that kept me from reaching my potential and I held at least one part time job throughout college. I was medicated for the last two years and my GPA substantially increased. I just graduated and ended up with a 3.35 for my Jr./Sr. terms (which were nearly all upper level core classes at 16 cr./semester). However, my overall GPA ended up just above 2.9. I never really considered continuing my education until I turned things around, so I'm fairly ignorant when it comes to this field of study. I've taken a few practice LSAT exams and scored around 164-169 (timed). I've heard that 1st generation college graduates receive more leniency and I'm also hoping my strong references work well.

So I guess my questions were...
Is a top tier school possible at this point?
Should I take time off to get work experience and then apply to distance myself from my GPA?

Okay, so 2 questions weren’t really that many, but I'm sure I'm forgetting some.
Last edited by Hoosier574 on Sat May 11, 2013 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ded Precedent

Re: Advice please? T1 or T2?

Postby Ded Precedent » Sat May 11, 2013 6:39 pm